NMC Songbook

The NMC Songbook

Claire Booth (soprano), Elizabeth Atherton (soprano), Ailish Tynan (soprano), Andrew Swait (treble), Sam Harris (treble), Susan Bickley (mezzo-soprano), Lore Lixenberg (mezzo-soprano), Jean Rigby (mezzo-soprano), James Bowman (countertenor), Michael Chance (countertenor), Andrew Watts (countertenor), Daniel Norman (tenor), Andrew Kennedy (tenor), Benjamin Hulett (tenor), Roderick Williams (baritone), Stephan Loges (baritone), George Mosley (baritone), David Stout (baritone), Richard Jackson (baritone), Omar Ebrahim (baritone), Iain Burnside (piano), Andrew Ball (piano)

To mark its 20th Anniversary in 2009, NMC Recordings commissioned The NMC Songbook. Nearly 100 composers, ranging from the country’s most highly regarded figures to the younger generation of emerging talents, each wrote a song on the theme of ‘Britain’, for single voice or duet and a range of accompanying instruments.

The songs are set to text chosen by the composers and cover a vast array of subjects, from lyrics by Blake and Byron and schoolbook rhymes listing the Kings and Queens of England, to extracts from a National Trust brochure, chants from the Leyton Orient terraces, a recipe for whisky, and road rage at the shopping centre Lakeside. Songs are interspersed with instrumental interludes from versions of a Galliard by Thomas Morley, arranged for the Songbook by Colin Matthews.

Listen & Purchase CD or downloads
Includes: The sun’s great eye
label: NMC Records
NMC D150